Scholarships assist high school graduates pursuing healthcare careers

Through the generosity of anonymous donors, Winona Health offers several $1,000 scholarships, renewable up to three additional years, to qualified high school graduates who are seeking a healthcare-related career.

“This year, the scholarship committee chose thirteen students based on a review of their healthcare career goals, academic excellence and community service experience,” said Betsy Midthun, vice president of Community Engagement.

Scholarship recipients must be enrolled in a course of study at an accredited academic institution that prepares them for healthcare career. Recipients are eligible to have their scholarship renewed up to three additional years if specific criteria are met.

The recipients and career pursuits are:

Cochrane-Fountain City High School

  • Andy Alleman, Saint Mary’s University, Physical Therapy
  • Jill Hiebert, University of Minnesota – Mankato, Nursing
  • Carley Hilt, Edgewood College, Child Life
  • Tylor Jilk, Stanford University, Pre-medicine

Cotter High School

  • Jennifer Beranek, Creighton University, Anesthesiology
  • Calli Marg, St. Catherine’s University, Occupational Therapy
  • Bryanna Meier, Winona State University, Nursing
  • Alex Strelow, Winona State University, Nursing

Galesville-Ettrick-Trempealeau High School

  • Megan Hoppe, Winona State University, Nursing
  • Julia Oanes, University of Wisconsin – Madison, Nursing

Winona Senior High School

  • Kaytee Johns, University of Wisconsin – La Crosse, Psychology
  • Michael Lubahn, Clarke University, Physical Therapy
  • Elaina Smith, Winona State University, Psychology

Click here for photos.

For more information about the Winona Health Foundation and scholarship opportunities, click here or call 507.457.4116.


PrintFriendly and PDF