Minnesota Council for Quality Award

Minnesota Quality AwardWinona Health was one of nine organizations recognized with a 2007 Minnesota Quality Award by the Minnesota Council for Quality in Minneapolis. The award recipients were recognized at a public event Wednesday, April 17, in St. Paul.

Founded in 1991, the primary objective of the Minnesota Quality Award is to help organizations improve their performance results. The Award also serves to recognize performance excellence throughout the state. The Minnesota Quality Award is given at four levels – Excellence (the top Award), Achievement, Advancement, and Commitment – and is the culmination of a rigorous assessment process that uses the “Criteria for Performance Excellence” of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award.

Organizations recognized at the
Minnesota Council for Quality event were:

Achievement Level:

  • Winona Health (Winona)

Advancement Level:

  • Benedictine Health System, Long Term Care Services (Duluth)
  • Immanuel St. Joseph’s Medical Center, Mayo Health System (Mankato)
  • Midwest Medical Insurance Group (Edina)

Commitment Level:

  • Cardinal of Minnesota (Rochester)
  • Hayfield Community Schools (Hayfield)
  • Marshall Public Schools (Marshall)
  • Pine Island Public Schools (Pine Island)
  • Zumbrota-Mazeppa Schools (Mazeppa)

Organizations that participate in the process receive comprehensive feedback that outlines their strengths and improvement opportunities in dozens of organizational processes including: leadership; strategic planning; customer and market focus; measurement, information, and knowledge management; workforce focus; process management; and results. This feedback is typically used by senior leaders for organizational learning, planning, and improvement.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email